About the Author

The Man Who Noticed Everything, Adrian Van Young's first book of fiction, won Black Lawrence Press' 2011 St. Lawrence Book Award, and is available for purchase from Black Lawrence Press. His second book, Shadows in Summerland, a novel, was republished by Open Road Media in September, 2020. His third book of fiction, Midnight Self, a story collection, will be released from Black Lawrence Press in October 2023. He is also the author of Vampire Pool Party from Madeleine Editions, a book for children. His fiction and non-fiction have been published or are forthcoming in Electric Literature's Recommended Reading, Black Warrior Review, Conjunctions, The Believer, VICE, Slate, BOMB, Guernica, Granta, The New Yorker online, and elsewhere. He is a Henfield Foundation Prize recipient as well as a two-time Pushcart Prize nominee.

He has taught writing at Boston College, Boston University, Grub Street Writers in Boston, and Tulane University in New Orleans. Currently, he teaches American Literature and Creative Writing at St. Martin's Episcopal School in Metairie. He received his B.A. in English from Vassar College, and his MFA in fiction from Columbia University, where he formerly taught as well. He lives in New Orleans with his wife Darcy and his two sons, Sebastian and August.

Praise for Shadows in Summerland —

“...a witty and disturbing horror novel: it's as if Henry James had written an issue of Tales From the Crypt.”
— Bennett Simms, author of A Questionable Shape

Praise for The Man Who Noticed Everything —

"Adrian Van Young channels such a diversity of mighty literary voices, you'd think this book was an anthology collecting the work of the best young writers of the new generation. But in truth these stories were all written by one man: an astoundingly talented writer."
— Ben Marcus, author of Notable American Women